1. Dear Guest, if you are not receiving a forgot pw email then use the contact form at the bottom of the page, or email contactprimeforums@gmail.com
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Guest, some forum sections are hidden for you. Register for FREE for unlimited access.
    Dismiss Notice

Custom Computer Builds?

Discussion in 'Technology Discussion' started by Piece, Jan 13, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  2. Lana

    Lana Forum Owner -

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12,704
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Nice. Maybe you could recommend something for me? I just need something to edit videos on and stream to twitch but I don't really wanna spend that much :/
    Maybe £500 ($750)
     
  3. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The video part wouldn't be bad, but the twitch part starts getting a little on the expensive side as with my computer I am only getting around 100 fps when I try streaming.
     
  4. Lana

    Lana Forum Owner -

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12,704
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Yeah I'm probably gonna get a GTX 960 4gb, should handle everything.
     
  5. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I agree that is a decent graphics card and should hold up well with what you're doing.
     
  6. JfN

    JfN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nice CPU, that's what I'm planning to put into my Coolermaster HAF 922. I'd prefer some G.Skill Ripjaws 4 over Corsair, though.
     
  7. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah I really like this CPU it's cool with the aftermarket cooler that I have and runs everything I need it to. As the RAM I just went with what was cheapest :/
     
  8. JfN

    JfN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Don't get me wrong haha, everyone knows Corsair make great RAM. I'm pretty sure G.Skill are cheaper than Corsair, though. They also hold the world record for fastest DDR4 speed.
     
  9. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hmm idk I have DDR3 but I probably should've gone with DDR4.
     
  10. JfN

    JfN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    It's ok DDR4 is too new to be important atm.
     
  11. Lana

    Lana Forum Owner -

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12,704
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You could just change it in the future anyway ;/
     
  12. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That is true there isn't a whole lot the DDR4 can do that DDR3 can't.
     
  13. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That is also true because RAM isn't too expensive.
     
  14. Jon

    Jon -

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  15. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  16. JfN

    JfN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,844
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    In a few years software will start to need DDR4, but now it's just a matter of abundance. There is a speed difference but it's up to the usage if that's significant. It also has a lower voltage which can be great.
     
  17. HYproXa

    HYproXa Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Mine is built from pieces that I bought separately.

    Made the basic working PC then ugpraded stuff.

    My budget is limited so I can't get expensive stuff.
    Last thing I bought was a GTX 960.
     
  18. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am playing on building a mirco atx computer later this year or early next year and I will probably switch then.
     
  19. Piece

    Piece -

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nice, I bought all my pieces at Microcenter and then built the computer at home. The only thing I have added was more RAM.
     
  20. HYproXa

    HYproXa Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I just saw it and the processor you have bought is the one I am planning on getting as soon as I can make some money.
     

Top